God, life, poetry, sad, series, Testimony

Mind Games

“Keep your thoughts on things above, not on things of the earth”

Information. Desire. Action.
My mind was hungry
Craving any and everything that would keep it busy
Chomping on food that would give it energy
And so I fed it.
I fed it with stories and games
Images that turned my imagination into a kingdom of perverse thoughts I would never
make into actions
Or so I thought.
My mind was a landmine of dangerous activities and lustful plays
A place where I could do whatever I wanted whenever I wanted without getting caught
Where I could let my flesh take charge without consequence
Because who could read my mind?
Woe betides me if anyone saw into the dark place which was my thoughts
No one would recognise the sweet girl on the outside who turned into a demon within
Until he came along.
He made me feel safe
He made me believe that the girl on the inside could finally come out
That the jokes and puns could hit a home run in reality
The one I was hiding would be safe in his presence
But like Anne Frank, I was betrayed by a friend
Released to the captivity of sin
Choked by the concentrated gases of deceit.
The one who God called hanged up on him
And decided to hang in the cell of phoney love
Thirsting for more after declining the living water
Straining for the satisfaction only the daily bread of Heaven could provide
All this after losing the battle in my mind.
I allowed myself to chew the cud of my iniquity resulting in my desire for the drops of
destruction leading to the second, third, fourth fall.
I blame myself
For bringing that information to the door of my mind
Allowing it in after it rang the bell
The bell hanging on the neck of the bull that rampaged through my china shop of a mind
Fragile, defenseless, weakened by societal pressures
I flattened myself to be used as a doormat
For him to wipe his feet on when he so pleased.
I’ve learnt my lesson
To keep my thoughts where I know they would be safe, high above the ground
To control what my mind feeds on because what goes in will surely come out one way or another.
So after all the games I’ve played on the inside of my head,
I’ll give room for my Saviour to emerge victorious.

2 thoughts on “Mind Games”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.